Australian milestones to celebrate at Wimbledon 2022

Several Australian players, including Lleyton Hewitt, are celebrating significant anniversaries during Wimbledon this year.

Wimbledon, also known as The Championships, is the oldest tennis tournament in the world.

The prestigious outdoor grass-court event was first staged in London in 1877 and is known for its unique traditions, which include requiring players to wear all-white outfits.

The 2021 edition was particularly memorable for Australian tennis fans with Ash Barty winning the ladies’ singles title. Barty was the first Australian in 41 years to win the prestigious title and became only the fifth player in history to claim both the ladies’ and girls’ singles crowns at Wimbledon.

Australia has a long and proud history at the tournament, as evident by the number of milestones set to be celebrated at the 2022 edition.

The following are the upcoming significant Australian anniversaries from the past 70 years …

Anniversary Player Achievement
One year Ash Barty Ladies’ singles champion
One year Dylan Alcott Quad wheelchair singles champion
10 years Nick Kyrgios and Andrew Harris Boys’ doubles champions
20 years Lleyton Hewitt Gentlemen’s singles champion
20 years Todd Reid Boys’ singles champion
30 years Steven Baldas and Scott Draper Boys’ doubles champions
30 years Maija Avotins and Lisa McShea Girls’ doubles champions
35 years Pat Cash Gentlemen’s singles champion
35 years Jason Stoltenberg and Todd Woodbridge Boys’ doubles champions
40 years Peter McNamara and Paul McNamee Gentlemen’s doubles champions
40 years Pat Cash Boys’ singles champion
40 years Pat Cash and John Frawley Boys’ doubles champions
45 years Ross Case and Geoff Masters Gentlemen’s doubles champions
45 years Helen Gourlay (with American JoAnne Russell) Ladies’ doubles champions
55 years John Newcombe Gentlemen’s singles champion
55 years Owen Davidson (with American Billie Jean King) Mixed doubles champions
60 years Rod Laver Gentlemen’s singles champion
60 years Bob Hewitt and Fred Stolle Gentlemen’s doubles champions
60 years Neale Fraser (with American Margaret duPont) Mixed doubles champions
65 years Lew Hoad Gentlemen’s singles champion
65 years Mervyn Rose (with American Darlene Hard) Mixed doubles champions
70 years Frank Sedgman Gentlemen’s singles champion
70 years Frank Sedgman and Ken McGregor Gentlemen’s doubles champions
70 years Frank Sedgman (with American Doris Hart) Mixed doubles champions

A special event will be held in Melbourne during the tournament to honour Australian great Frank Sedgman, who completed a clean sweep 70 years.

Sedgman, now aged 94, won the gentlemen’s singles, doubles and mixed doubles titles in 1952.

> READ: Join in the fun this grass-court season

Book online, play today: Visit to get out on court and have some fun!